Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research (JNCASR)

Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research (JNCASR)

The Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research (JNCASR) is a multidisciplinary research institute located at Jakkur, Bangalore, India. It was established by the Department of Science and Technology of the Government of India, to mark the birth centenary of Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru in 1989.

Researchers at the centre are divided into seven units: Chemistry and Physics of Materials, Engineering Mechanics, Evolutionary and Organismal Biology, Molecular biology and Genetics, New Chemistry, Theoretical Sciences, Educational Technology and Geodynamics. There are two off-campus units: Chemical Biology and Condensed Matter Theory.

JNCASR has a faculty-to-student ratio of about 1:4 and state-of-the-art experimental, computational and infrastructural facilities. It offers Ph.D. programmes, as well as an Integrated Ph.D. (post-bachelor’s degree) programme in Materials Science. It is a “deemed university”, i.e., it awards its own degrees.

The work of the centre’s faculty has been recognized by awards. The list of honours and prizes received by C.N.R. Rao runs into many pages. To list just a few of the awards gained by other faculty members: In 2006, Tapas Kumar Kundu was awarded the Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Award for biological sciences, Anuranjan Anand received the Outstanding Research Award from the Department of Atomic Energy (India), and Srikanth Sastry, G. U. Kulkarni and Balasubramanian Sundaram received the B. M. Birla Science Prize. In 2007, Rama Govindarajan was one of the recipient of Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Award. In 2010, Swapan Kumar Pati and Umesh Waghmare received Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Award. Maneesha S. Inamdar was awarded the National Bioscience Award for Career Development in 2011.

The institute has received 12 patents from various countries as of November 2013. It is recognized as highest impact institution based on Science Citation Index for 2010-11.

Source :

See Also :

Related posts

Indian Institute of Technology (IIT)


Rajiv Gandhi Institute of Petroleum Technology


Indian Institute of Tropical Meteorology


This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

Privacy & Cookies Policy